Update : How to love the early morning hours


Image by jurvetson

Some months ago I wrote an article discusing how to become an early riser (link) I thought you may be interested in knowing how did I go on establishing a routine of getting up early in the morning and doing meditation and exercise:

  • For the last couple of months, I have been able to regularly wake up at 6 AM without the need of an alarm clock (I typically set my alarm clock as a safety measure, but always wake up before it goes off)
  • I have been doing the ‘Peaceful Warrior Workout’ (link) since the start of this year, at least 5 days a week (and there have been many weeks when I did it every day)
  • I have been doing rung 15 of the exercise ladder from The Hacker’s Diet at least 3 times every week (link)

The part I have struggled the most with has been meditating every day in the morning. Instead, I have started meditating at night before going to bed. I must admit it has a therapeutic effect and makes it easier for me to go to sleep, but the problem is that I am doing this in bed, and often end up falling asleep within minutes of starting my meditation.

Do you have any tips on how to improve my practices? I will be very thankful if you leave me a comment at the end of this post with your ideas.

Leave a Reply

