Pass it Forward!

A bit over a year ago, I had an epiphany. I realised that I am one of the few people in this world who is blessed enough to have had a functional family; a good education; well paid jobs; and a lot of TLC (Tender Loving Care) surrounding me all my life. Yet with all those things, there was very little I was doing for others.

I started thinking about how to change it. I thought of donating more to charities; of offering my knowledge and services on a ‘pro-bono’ (ie. free)  to others; I even thought of being nicer to people at work, and try to loose my lack-of-patience as an attribute.

Then, I remembered a movie I watched many, many years ago, and which really touched me deep within my heart.  Pay it Forward, with Kevin Spacey and Helen Hunt is based on a book by the same title written by Catherine Ryan.  And I thought to myself: Why can’t I start a Pay it forward movement?

I toyed with the idea; discussed it with Ines,  my wife, confidant and advisor. And then decided to go for it.

The program has a goal: To encourage at least 1 million people to do a Random Act of Kindness by 2,012. I am not sure how will I track its target, but that is what I want to do. I created the concept of a ‘business card’ that can be given to the recipient of the act of kindness, to explain ‘Why me?’ and to encourage the recipient to Pass it forward (together with the card). I have a web site that explains it all. I am yet to hear from a recipient of one of my cards; but the web site is getting some traffic, so maybe it is just a matter  of time.

Want to participate? Go to the web site  and download the card;Get some ideas for ‘Random Acts of Kindness’ you can do; Submit your own ideas; share your story (you may even be the first one!), or read some reflections on the concept and the movement.

If this post made you think about *your* personal contribution towards a better world, I encourage you to “Pass it forward. Take the chance to inspire someone, and you may already have done a lot to leave the world a better place, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

